RCAEOP GENERAL MEETING



DATE: Thursday, August 3, 2017

TIME: 4:35 pm

LOCATION: Richland District Two Conference Center

Call to Order by: President Nona Montoya, CEOE

Members in Attendance: 24

The Pledge of Allegiance led by: Sandra Baker, CEOE

Approval of July 6, 2017 Minutes by: President Nona Montoya, CEOE, (minutes are approved as presented)

Recap of the Gala by: President Nona Montoya, CEOE. I hope you are enjoying the Gala pictures that are showing on the screen as you walked into our RCAEOP meeting. The Gala pictures are also posted on our website if you would like to view them more. We're so lucky to have had 15 table sponsors for our first Gala. We sold 150 tickets and 131 guests attended our Gala which included Administrators and members from Richland One and Richland Two School Boards. We are hoping to continue the Gala this year. Last year we were very fortunate that our district allowed us use the conference rooms at R2I2 and that others purchased items to help us. This year we have \$500.00 as a line item and we cleared \$200.00 from the Gala last year. Our goal is to get corporate sponsors and do more fundraising to help fund the Gala and to keep ticket prices reasonable for everyone. The Gala has been tentatively scheduled for May 24 2018.

Introduction of our Committee Chairs by President Nona Montoya, CEOE: Administrator of the Year: Rachel Phelps, CEOE, Chair, Budget: Patti Christensen, CEOE, Chair, Bylaws: Robyn Dawson, CEOE, Chair, Community Service: Hope Eddy, Chair, Gala: Executive Board, Fundraising/Ways & Means: Shelia Washington, CEOE, Co-Chair and Annette Cline, CEOE, Co-Chair, Membership/Recruitment: Gloria Deramus, Co-Chair, Bridge Bookert, Co-Chair, Linda Goodwin, CEOE, Recorder, Newsletter/Public Relations: Luke Luesing, Chair, Nominations and Elections: Shaniqua Staples, Chair, Office Professional of the Year: Darlene Montgomery, CEOE, Chair, Professional Growth: Sandra Baker, CEOE Co-Chair, Dee Dee Milakovich, CEOE, Co-Chair, Jill Averyhart, CEOE, PSP, Refreshments: Georgina Hance, Chair, Scholarship: Patricia Kelly, Chair, and for Website: Jennifer Hedrick, CEOE, Chair. RCAEOP members please look over the committee descriptions and sign up if you would like to be part of a committee. Also if you're working on your PSP it's a great way to see how the committees are run and you can earn points by signing up for one.

New Business: President Nona Montoya, CEOE, presented the pop-sockets for your phone, and ID reels. There will be a preorder form sent out soon for you to purchase a computer bag for \$30.00 which will help fund the Gala. The pop-sockets and ID reels are \$12.00 if you purchase them together, or \$7.00 each. You will be able to order them through PayPal and there will be a small convenience fee. We will also be looking to purchase new RCAEOP shirts. Polo shirts would be nice and we will look into long and short sleeve professional shirts.

Last month President Nona Montoya, CEOE, thanked her Executive Board Members for all their hard work this year and presented each of them that were present with a special RCAEOP monogrammed computer bag. The recipient today is our Treasurer, Evelyn Ratterree, CEOE.

NAEOP Highlights by: Jill Averyhart, CEOE, congratulations to our two Co-Chairs, Paula Rosenberger, CEOE, and Melody Wise-Butler, CEOE, who did an amazing job putting the conference together. Everyone was very impressed with the Celebration of Life and said it was a huge success. There were many RCAEOP members who were on various committees to help make the conference very successful. We also had a lot of RCAEOP members who stepped up and were elected to numerous NAEOP Committees. Heather Bryan, Kimberly Coward, CEOE Marybeth Gawrys, CEOE, Nona Montoya, CEOE, Shaniqua Staples, April Turner, CEOE, Veronica Watkins, CEOE, Brian Weston, CEOE, and Melody Wise-Butler, CEOE. Congratulations to April Turner, CEOE, who was in

charge of the Social Media Check in, the Flag Ceremony, and the First General Session. Nona Montoya, CEOE, and the First Timers Committee Breakfast was lots of fun. We had great presenters from Richland County, who were also RCAEOP members. Congratulations to: Georgette Council. CEOE, Vickie McIntyre, CEOE, Louise Snipes, CEOE, Carla Young, CEOE, and Shaniqua Staples. Shaniqua stepped in as a First Timer and presented for Cathy Eberle who fell and broke her arm in New York and wasn't able to make the conference at the last minute. Our Key Note Sam Glenn was loved by everyone. Someone donated \$500.00 towards NAEOP for his penguin/batman painting. RCAEOP members, Georgette Council, CEOE, Paula Rosenberger, CEOE, who has returned to Richland District Two, and RCAEOP, and Debbie Geib, CEOE, our NAEOP Executive Director, toured and were interviewed by the Greenville County School District. The district also sent their Information Officer with their cameras and visited every room, took pictures, did NAEOP interviews and then put it on the news that evening. We had over 90 different briefings, seven group sessions for learning and networking. Kudos Jennifer Hedrick, CEOE, and her committee on the table decorations for the awards banquet. RCAEOP had 17 PSP recipients walk across the stage this year, and 14 of the 17 received their CEOE's. Melody Wise-Butler, CEOE, received her Masters Degree. The next PSP deadline is September 15th. Luke Luesing and Shaniqua Staples are planning on submitting their paperwork in September. Congratulations to Jennifer Hedrick for placing third on our RCAEOP Website. Congratulations to Dr. Baron Davis who was named NAEOP's Administrator of the Year, and to Louise Snipes who was named NAEOP's Office Professional of the Year. Our new NAEOP President Lisa Morehouse's theme is "Accept the Challenge Become the Difference". The following RCAEOP members were installed: Georgette Council, CEOE, as our NAEOP Administrative Council Chairman, Louise Snipes, CEOE, as our NAEOP Middle School Council Chairman, Paula Rosenberger, CEOE, as our Mid-Atlantic Area Director, Jill Averyhart, CEOE, as our NAEOP Vice President and is considering moving up to the President Elect position. The NAEOP Conference will be July 17th-20th in Bloomington, Minnesota. Please make sure to fill out the Conference Survey so they can plan for the conference next year. The Hospitality Committee did an incredible job and heard nothing but great things about it. Thank you RCAEOP members for stepping up and out in a very big way.

Welcome Tameka Sherman who is now a RCAEOP member.

Meeting Adjourned: 5:07 pm

Respectfully Submitted,

Marybeth Gawrys, CEOE, Secretary August 3, 2017